WhatsApp is an immensely popular messaging platform. Earlier it was merely limited to textual and image messaging but has evolved over the decade with support for longer videos, documents, stickers, etc. WhatsApp is so popular that it has transcended the use of traditional textual SMS which was the only way of texting back in the day.

WhatsApp has close to 2 billion users worldwide that regularly use the platform. This astonishing number of users means that a plethora of messages is generated each day. Amid the huge no of messages, some might be deleted accidentally. Recovering the deleted messages can be a tiresome feat for most users that know little about the intricacies of the features available on WhatsApp.

Following is a detailed guide on how to recover deleted or removed messages from WhatsApp.

 

Use WAMR App

WAMR App is a third-party application that makes a backup of the deleted messages without requiring the user to save the data in the application every time. The application records everything that is received in WhatsApp, once you allow all the desired permissions. It can even record the deleted messages from a sender and is capable to grab images and statutes too.

The thing about WAMR is that it can recover those messages that are received or sent after installing it. It is not able to cover up any previous mishaps that may have occurred by the user. It is a recommended application if you receive a ton of personalized messages that are prone to the accidental decision.

 

Back up from Cloud

To back-up, your data from the cloud (especially deleted messages) the first step is very bold.

  • Long-press on the WhatsApp icon.
  • Choose the uninstall option.
  • Open the play store and re-install the WhatsApp application.
  • Fill up the details, verify your number.
  • It will prompt you about restoring from the backup on the cloud.
  • Choose that option, and the backup, if present, will be restored to your account.
  • Navigate the WhatsApp to see for the desired changes.

 

From the local backup

The application periodically makes a backup of the chats in the storage for future restorations. It can be found deep into the WhatsApp folder under the database sub-folder. This process might be complicated for novice users. it works only on the Android operating system and no evidence of its success is available for IOS platforms. It involves renaming the backup files and forcing the system to recognize it as the latest backup. The steps are as follows-

  • Open the file manager application on your android device.
  • Navigate to the primary WhatsApp folder.
  • Open it and find a sub-folder named databases folder.
  • You will see a number of backup files that differ in date and size.
  • Select the file msgstore.db.crypt12 and rename it to msgstore_BACKUP.db.crypt12.
  • This renaming protects your data from being overwritten when you install a fresh version of the WhatsApp on your phone.
  • Now rename any similar backup file of a date and time of your preference and rename it to msgstore.db.crypt12.
  • Open your Google Drive, the one belonging to the account you provided for the backup in the initial installation phase.
  • Navigate through the Backup section of the Drive and delete the WhatsApp chat backup present on it.
  • Now long-press the WhatsApp icon and uninstall the application.
  • Search the google play store for the app and reinstall it.
  • Complete the sign-in and verification process.
  • After that, it will prompt you to restore from a previous backup.
  • As there is no actual backup present on the Drive, it will ask you to restore from a local backup instead.
  • Choose that option and voila, your chats are back.

 

Pro-Tip to save yourself from this debacle

The chats are deleted occasionally but can be trouble for office workers where the delegations happen on WhatsApp. The pro-tip is to always enable drive backup for the moment you install the application. Storing the messages on a cloud platform can enable faster backups that do not vanish over time.

The local backup timing is one more thing to ponder upon before deleting a backup. Choose it according to your sleep timings. For example, the default preset is 2 a.m. The chats amassed in the day are backed up at that time by default. You can alter that time to back it up at your personalized sleep timings. And refrain from deleting unnecessarily.